First Night on my Own….

Wake-up call and reality check all delivered in a matter of about half and hour last night! I was less than thrilled in the throws, but found myself laughing uncontrollably after the kiddos were both asleep. I will censor some of this hoping that my oldest baby girl NEVER finds out that I shared it, but it went something like this:

Todd had an appointment last night (never mind that it was scheduled with a friend at a bar and I’m still a little bitter….;-))so I was on my own with a newborn and my almost 2 year old for the first time. Todd encouraged me to call for reinforcements, but I stubbornly decided that I could handle “the witching hour,” on my own. It went pretty well at first. I managed to put Pate in the swing for the first time and he loved it. I also managed to put together a healthy meal for Aggie that wasn’t pre-packaged too. After she ate she enjoyed her red Jello (or Jello art.) Don’t know if you’ve had the pleasure, but whatever coloring they put in jello could cover a wall with just one coat. Needless to say, Aggie needed a bath and Pate got hungry. So, still handling everything fairly well, I cleaned Aggie up in the sink just enough to get by while I fed the baby.

She then informed me that she needed to potty, so holding him off a little longer, I decided to let her “potty.” Read – sit on toilet and throw toilet paper between legs. After redressing the diaper, I sat down with Elmo video and Aggie and began to feed Pate. Elmo over, hell begins. Aggie promptly got up and stripped her diaper off. I’m still so sore from feeding that I decided to risk it rather than unlatch my very hearty eater. Knowing that this was a mistake, I was soon informed…well, you can imagine.

I did then manage to unlatch my eater, wrap him up, and give Aggie a thorough bath with just one hand. Anyway, a couple of books later, everyone was happy and asleep and I was laughing hysterically.

Hope this was just my hazing into two children, but I’ll let you know – and next time will call for reinforcements!

Mitchell

2 Responses to “First Night on my Own….”


  1. 1 Todd August 13, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Hey, I was working, I made the sale. If I was out being a deadbeat dad, I would’ve been at Doug’s.

  2. 2 Jenny August 16, 2007 at 3:19 am

    it gets better….

    anyway, glad you survived, sounds like you did a great job and thank GOODNESS for swings 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

