Operation UN-Plug

Well, we’re trying it.  We are tying to get rid of the “plug.”  To the rest of you guys it’s Aggie’s pacifier.  I swore (as your resident speech pathologist) before I had kiddos that I would NEVER be one of those moms……but I am and I’m not feeling so guilty about it.  Now (just to give us a BIT of credit) she only uses her plug when she is sleeping and doesn’t even need it at school. On a side note, she doesn’t sleep all that great at school…hmmmm…

But, we are breaking the habit.  We started last night with a promise of stickers and a trip to buy a new toy if it went smoothly.  No need to run to Target b/c it did NOT go smoothly.  She only fussed for a bit, but she can’t seem to calm down without it.  She “played” with only one book and no toys in her room until MIDNIGHT….yup….MIDNIGHT.  I mean, what does she have to talk about, to herself, for 5 plus hours????????????

She did the same thing again for nap…..add a bit more fussing due to the midnight bedtime and, I think, she has collapsed into sleep…..just kidding….just heard her:-( 

We have music playing.  We have limited bed things to one lovey and a book, and we are sticking, strictly, to a bedtime routine.  We are SO open to suggestions.  I’m a little worried that she isn’t coming up for air what with all the talking to herself;-)

I think if Todd were not here she would have that thing until she was off to college……I have no will power!

1 Response to “Operation UN-Plug”


  1. 1 Tricia January 5, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Oh, you poor thing! I have absolutely no suggestions because we are going to be in the same boat if we don’t do something soon! Well, I have seen on the SuperNanny where older kids mail their “plugs” to the “plug fairy” and then she sends them something cool in the mail. They do well with it on tv…but then again, it’s tv. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear how it goes!


Leave a Reply

